Cisco Canada Blog

Being a TO2015 Torch Bearer allows me to share my story!

June 22, 2015

1.   Torch bearers represent individuals that have proven to be a local hero. What are some of the challenges you had to overcome?

As a 36 year old mom to two young children, a wife and a professional, my world was unexpectedly turned upside down when I was told I needed a liver transplant to survive.  Despite the constant pain and exhaustion I felt, I made a choice in that moment to survive using courage, humor and grace. I owed it to my children to show them that even though unexpected things in life were going to happen, we each have the control to choose how we handle these life events. I candidly blogged about my transplant journey so others waiting for a transplant would not have to live in fear of the unknown journey ahead.  I was blessed when two amazing, selfless women in my life offered to donate 2/3rd’s of their own liver so I could live.  On January 29, 2014 my diseased liver was removed and a piece of my childhood friends liver was put in—12 weeks later both of our livers had grown back to full size and the transplant was considered a resounding success. Sharing my transplant experience and advocating for organ donation is my small way of giving back. 

2.   What does being a torch bearer mean to you? 

Being a torch bearer signifies that even though I am a transplant survivor, I am strong, I am healthy, and I am able to persevere through anything life throws my way. Being nominated and selected to hold the torch fills me with pride knowing that I have inspired others, much like many of the athletes have and will inspire an entire nation.

Screen Shot 2015-06-22 at 12.45.13 PM

Author:  Sarah Groseline

I am a 38 year old resident of Milton, Ontario.  I have been happily married to my husband Scott for 12 years and am the Mom to a 9 year old son, Will, and 6 year old daughter, Ella.  I am a graduate of Queen’s University holding both an undergraduate degree in Nursing and a Masters of Science in Cardiovascular research.  I now work in the Pharmaceutical Industry and enjoy doing anything that involves physical activity and my family.


Leave a comment